The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult – A Discussion

20130421_171805_resizedI received this book as a birthday present.   It really isn’t a book I would choose to buy.  I have only read two of Jodi Picoult‘s books – The Pact and My Sister’s Keeper.  I enjoyed both but found them quite depressing.  I prefer made up ghosts and killers rather than the horrors of real life.  That said, I did find The Storyteller a good read and would recommend it.

NOTES:

* I liked how Picoult spilt the book up into different parts.  Each separate yet intertwined plot was engaging with interesting characters.

* I liked the addition of the Upior (the story within the story).   The supernatural parts were particularly interesting to me as that is what kind of stories I typically enjoy.

* The tale of Minka and her terrible experiences in the concentration camps etc were confronting and obviously based on real life events.  Although terrible to read and think about, I appreciated that Picoult did not avoid writing about such horrible things just to make the reader feel more comfortable.

* The relationship between Sage and Leo was a nice addition to the story – throughout most of the story I was hoping that they would get together.

* The themes of the novel were hard hitting – redemption, justice, forgiveness.  While reading I was often put into the shoes of the characters and had to ask myself what I would do if faced the same situations.

QUOTES

* ‘History isn’t about dates and places and wars. It’s about the people who fill the spaces between them.’

* ‘Good people are good people; religion has nothing to do with it.’

* ‘People have to experience things that terrify them. If they don’t, how will they ever come to appreciate safety?’

* ‘My brother believed in all sorts of mythical creatures: pixies, dragons, werewolves, honest men.’

* ‘That’s why we read fiction, isn’t it? To remind us that whatever we suffer, we’re not the only ones?’

2 thoughts on “The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult – A Discussion

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 14 | Me, Bookshelf and I

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 17 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

