The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis – A Discussion (contains spoilers)

English: Map of Narnian world as described in ...

English: Map of Narnian world as described in The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have come to the end of my  Narnia journey.  It is pleasing to know that I can still read the whole series as an adult and still appreciate Lewis’s wondrous characters and settings.  The last book in the series I have to say is probably my least favourite maybe its because I know that it is the end Narnia – or is it?

NOTES:

* I enjoyed how the Ape (Shift) tricked poor Puzzle the Donkey into wearing the lion skin and pretend that he was Aslan.  However, I didn’t really like the character of the Shift (not that I am supposed to because he is the villain) but there just hasn’t been any mention of apes as characters throughout the chronicles so I found it a little odd.  I think it would have been better if the last villain of Narnia was yet another evil queen.

* The last King of Narnia, Tirian (a descendant of Caspian) and his unicorn Jewel are fitting heroes for the last book.

* I did like the fact that most of the characters from previous books came back (Peter, Edmund, Lucy, Reepicheep, Puddlegum, Aravis, Corin, Tumnus, Polly, Digory – to name a few), however Susan was not included as she had lost her faith in Narnia which I found a bit confusing as I don’t think her character reflects this.

* The ending is slightly far fetched, they die in a train accident (yes all of them) in the real world, Narnia has been destroyed and they are all going to live happily ever after in Aslan’s country.

* The absence of Susan was disappointing.  I don’t understand why she was not included in the book and Lewis never explained what happened to her.  Did she loose her whole family in the train crash? If so what a depressing life she shall now lead.

QUOTES:

* “They have chosen cunning instead of belief. Their prison is only in their minds, yet they are in that prison; and so afraid of being taken in that they cannot be taken out.”

* “One always feel better when one has made up one’s mind.”

* “Yes,” said Mr. Tumnus, “like an onion: except that as you continue to go in and in, each circle is larger than the last.”

Leave a Reply

