Coming Soon – Books I can’t wait to read

Just a few books that I am waiting patiently for;

1) Joyland by Stephen King (JUNE) – As a fan I’ll read pretty much anything he writes but this plot just sounds intriguing and creepy.   Set in a small-town amusement park in the 70s, student Devin Jones comes to work as a carny and confronts the legacy of a vicious murder.

2)  The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (JUNE) – I really enjoy his books for young adults (Coraline, The Graveyard Book) and am curious to see what he has in store for an adult audience.

3) The Dark by Lemony Snicket, illustrated by Jon Klassen (APRIL) – I love both Illustrator and Writer and a picture book about being afraid of the dark will be enjoyed by my students (and myself).

4) Revenge by Yoko Ogawa (JAN but I haven’t had the time to get it as yet) – 11 connected stories with macabre and supernatural themes.  Sounds fascinating.

5) In the Shadows of Blackbirds by Cat Winters (APRIL) – Séances, spirit photographers and early-twentieth-century photographs, what more could I ask for?

2 thoughts on “Coming Soon – Books I can’t wait to read

  1. I love how Stephen King has “retired” on different occasions or said that he’s going to slow down on writing, and yet he has seemingly published at least one book every year. I never get tired of reading anything he writes so I’m glad he continues to churn them out so often.

Leave a Reply

