Edgar Allan Poe – The Master of Macabre

photos

I recently found this copy of Edgar Allan Poe‘s tales in a second handbook shop and of course with it’s disturbing front cover I had to buy it.

My favourite poem is The Raven and I had previously read The Tell Tale Heart but most of the stories in this book were new to me.

Poe does not disappoint, his stories are horrifying.  Here were some of my favourite’s tales from the book;

The Murders in the Rue Morgue – A clever murder mystery with quite a disturbing killer.

The Pit and the Pendulum –  A prisoner, guilty of an unknown crime is placed in a chamber and is subjected to tortures.  He is trapped under a slowly swinging pendulum and needs to escape.

The Black Cat – Perhaps the most gruesome of his stories.  A tale about a man, cats and murder.

The Tell-Tale Heart – The classic story of a man’s guilt taking over his sanity.   The beating of the heart coming from under the floor boards is genius.

The Fall of the House of Usher – A tale about a strange brother and sister who live in a creepy house where bizarre events  take place.

3 thoughts on “Edgar Allan Poe – The Master of Macabre

  1. Pingback: The MURDERS in… | TOP-CRIME

  2. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an
    e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

Leave a Reply

