Ten by Gretchen McNeil (A Discussion – Contains Spoilers)

With the dust jacket off - I thought this was a creepy idea

With the dust jacket off – I thought this was a creepy idea

I am a sucker for teenage horror stories.  Always have been, always will.  After reading the by line on the front cover,

‘Ten teens.  Three days. One Killer.’  

I could not resist buying this book even though I knew that it would most likely be as predictable as every other teen horror.

Discussion Notes:

* The beginning hooked me; I liked the dynamic between the two best friends Meg and Minnie.  The setting was also written well.  I could imagine the creepy island in my head.

* When all of the rest of the characters were introduced (yes all 10 of them), it was a little confusing at first and I had to check back to see who was who.  You do get used to them though as each character has a distinct personality even if they are just a little stereotypical.

* I liked the idea of how the killer put red marks on the wall after each character died.  It made it feel more sinister.

* The dialogue was a little irritating at times.  I just didn’t feel it was believable teenage speech.

* As the numbers dwindled the story got a little creepy when there were only a few of them left and you knew that one of them had to be the killer.  As usual though the killer was unexpected and out of the blue.  Although the motives were explained, it would have been fine just once to have the predicable suspect as the killer.  I think it would have been scarier.

As long as you don’t expect too much, this book is entertaining and easy to read.

photo

3 thoughts on “Ten by Gretchen McNeil (A Discussion – Contains Spoilers)

Leave a Reply

