Reading – My First Love

Enid Blytons

Enid Blytons (Photo credit: Idlepines)

I began my love of reading in my very first year of schooling.  I remember being able to read simple books with words such as ‘jump’, ‘skip’, ‘hop’ and was able to progress through reading levels quickly.

I enjoyed picture books but it was the novels that took my reading to the next level.  I remember sitting on the heating ducts during the winter school holidays with a stack of novels by my side.  I would stay there in my cozy warmth reading all day.  Enid Blyton and C.S. Lewis in particular were my favourite holiday companions.

I still keep the tradition of gathering a pile of books that I would like to read for the year ahead.  I only wish I had as much free time as I did as a kid.

I can’t explain why I love reading so much.  I tried to for the purpose of this blog but all I could come up with was that reading is something that I have always done.   It’s a part of me.

If anyone else could explain why they love reading so much maybe it will help me clarify my answer a little better.

Leave a Reply

